Reinstating A Driver's License

Authored By: Lagniappe Law Lab

About

About Reinstating A Driver's License

Reasons you may need to reinstate your driver's license:

  • Excessive Moving Violations
  • Driving Under the Influence 
  • Driving with a Suspended License or No License 
  • Driving without insurance 
  • Other Driving-Related Violations 
  • Physical or Psychological Disqualification
  • Non-Driving Reasons for License Suspension

To begin, you must check your driver's license status to see about any reasons you may need to reinstate your driver's license. 

The main steps to reinstate a suspended license in Louisiana are waiting out the suspension period, submitting any compliance documents, and paying the fine.

What You Need To Know

When your license is suspended or revoked, it generally means that the state has taken away your driving privileges. In other words, while the suspension or revocation is in place, you can't lawfully drive. In Louisiana, a suspension and revocation are essentially the same. Each type of revocation or suspension has reinstatement requirements. A suspension means you cannot drive for a certain period of time but can get your license back later. A revocation of your license means your driver's license is canceled, and you must submit to an investigation before you can get another license. 

Depending on the circumstances of your conviction, your suspension term may begin: 

  • When your current driver's license expires. 
  • At the end of a current suspension/disqualification you are serving, if you have multiple suspensions. 
  • 30 days after you receive a LA OMV suspended license notice. 
  • The day the statement of non-possession is received. 
  • At a LA OMV specified date, after you surrender your driver's license. 

 

If your license has not already been taken away from you in court, you must surrender it to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. You can surrender your license in person at a Motor Vehicles Reinstatement office, or mail it to: Office of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896

While your license is suspended, you are not permitted to drive. If you are found driving with a suspended license, you may be imprisoned for up to 5 years, and the length of your suspension may be increased.

After your suspension is over, you will get a written notice for reinstating your license, with instructions on how to reinstate your license. Do not drive until you have completed the necessary steps and received a valid, replacement license from the Louisiana OMV.

How To Reinstate Your Driver's License

How To Reinstate Your Driver's License

If you have had your driver's license suspended or revoked in Louisiana, you may be able to reinstate it.

Each type of violation or offense has different requirements to show proof of compliance. You must also pay the associated fees with each reinstatement. 

Steps To Reinstate Your Driver's License

To begin the process of getting any OMV services you must check your driver’s license status online. This will tell you if you have any flags, blocks, suspensions, disqualifications, or other reinstatement issues that may show up as part of your driver’s license status. A driver’s license cannot be reissued or renewed if it is showing as suspended or revoked until you complete the waiting period, submit compliance documents to the LA OMV, and pay the reinstatement fine.

Visit How To Quickly Obtain A Reinstatement Inquiry Status

Convictions and violations that may cause license suspension will remain on your Louisiana driving record for different durations of time, depending on the type of offense. You must wait for the required suspension period before you can begin the process to reinstate your driver’s license. Determine your suspension period based on the type of offense(s) that might be on your record. 
If you need a driver’s license, you might apply for a temporary hardship license. This is a restricted form of a driver’s license that allows you to drive to and from work, school, and other necessary activities for the duration of your suspension. Learn more by visiting the resource Hardship Driver’s Licenses.

You will get a notice from the LA OMV after you have completed your suspension period. The notice will include instructions regarding how to get your license back. After you finish the suspension period you can begin the process of gathering your documentation that shows compliance to reinstate your driver’s license. You must submit the documents to the LA OMV to process your reinstatement documents. The documents you must gather are different based on the type of offense(s) that might be on your record.

You cannot submit the required documents for reinstatement in person at OMV field offices.

The LA OMV can process reinstatements in the following ways:

  • Phone: OMV Call Center - (225) 925-6146 (Option 3).

  • Mail: Office of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.

  • Public Tag Agent (PTA): PTAs can perform limited reinstatement transactions. The OMV maintains an online list of PTA locations

  • Online: Visit www.expresslane.org, select "Contact Us" and choose Installment Agreement, Driver's License Suspension, or Insurance Revocations/Violations as inquiry type.

When you submit your compliance documents to the Lousiana OMV you can also pay your fine and reinstatement fees. The fine to reinstate your license is based on the type of offense. Determine your approximate fee based on the type of offense(s) that might be on your record. 

If you've already submitted your suspension compliance documents, you can pay your reinstatement fees by calling the Louisiana DMV at (225) 925-6146.

For information about your specific reinstatement fees, please contact a Louisiana OMV reinstatement office or call (225) 925-6146.

Showing Compliance And Reinstatement Fees

To show compliance for an unpaid traffic ticket or failing to appear on your court date you must include: 

  • Documentation showing compliance such as a traffic ticket and the paid receipt for your traffic ticket payment or a court affidavit or continuance form regarding your court date.

  • Reinstatement Fees

    • Louisiana Court = $100.00

    • In Lieu = $60.00

    • Out-of-State Court = $60.00

    • Shreveport City Court = $87.50

To show compliance for nonpayment of taxes you must include: 

  • Proof such as a tax clearance letter that shows that you paid the taxes due or proof that you have entered an installment agreement with the Louisiana Department of Revenue.

  • Reinstatement Fees

    •  $60.00

To show compliance for nonpayment of child support you must include: 

  • Compliance with the Department of Social Services (DSS) which includes the LASES number, documentation such as a release certificate from the DSS, or partial compliance release from DSS. 

  • Reinstatement Fees 

    • $60.00

Submit your compliance documents and fees by fax, by mail, or by the Contact Us link at the bottom of the Louisiana OMV page.

To show compliance for driving while on a suspended license you must: 

  • Serve a one-year probationary period 

  • Pay reinstatement fees

    • $60.00

Submit your fees by fax, by mail, or by phone at (225) 925-6146.

To show compliance for an unpaid motor carrier ticket you must include: 

  • Compliance showing documentation including the ticket number and paid receipt for the ticket

  • Reinstatement fees

    • $50.00

 

An arrest is classified as a "Submit" when a law enforcement officer places a person under arrest for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and the person submits to an approved chemical test for intoxication and such test results show a blood alcohol content over the legal limits. To show compliance for a “Submit” you must: 

  • Serve the mandatory suspension and/or disqualification period 

  • Install or show an agreement to install an ignition interlock device (IID)

  • Pay Reinstatement Fees:

    • $50.00

 

An arrest is classified as a "Refusal" when a law enforcement officer places a person under arrest for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and the person refuses to submit to an approved chemical test for intoxication. To show compliance for a “Refusal” you must: 

  • Serve the mandatory suspension and/or disqualification period 

  • Show proof of financial responsibility such as SR-22 insurance for three years from the date of the arrest 

  • Install or show an agreement to install an ignition interlock device (IID)

  • Pay reinstatement fees

    • $50.00

To show compliance for a conviction for a charge of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Underage Driving Under the Influence (UDUI) you must: 

  • Serve the mandatory suspension and/or disqualification period 

  • Show proof of financial responsibility such as SR-22 insurance for three years from the date of the arrest 

Pay reinstatement fees

  • DWI 1st: $100

  • DWI 2nd: $200

  • DWI 3rd+: $300

  • UDUI: $60

Other Issues To Consider

Other Issues To Consider Related To Reinstating A Driver's License

These are some of the other issues to consider related to reinstating a driver's license. 

Issues To Consider Related To Driver's License Reinstatement

If you feel that your license was wrongly suspended, you have 30 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing. Mail your written request to the OMV at P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, LA 70896, or visit your local OMV field office to request the hearing. 

The Louisiana OMV may issue you a temporary driver’s license to use until your suspension hearing is held.

If you were suspended due to DUI, you can apply for a hearing within 15 days, for all other suspensions you can apply in 30 days. An administrative law judge or the OMV Chief Administrator will hear your case and determine whether your driver’s license should be suspended or not.

If you have no other means of transportation, you can apply for a temporary hardship license, a form of restricted license that allows you to drive to and from work, school, and other necessary activities for the duration of your suspension. 

You must complete at least 30 days of your suspension before you become eligible to apply for a hardship license. At that point, you can apply to your parish’s district court. To apply for a hardship license, you may need to:

  • File a SR22 form with the LA OMV (available from your insurance company)
  • Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
  • Submit a court order. 
  • Pay a fee. 

The court will determine your eligibility and either issue or deny your license. 

To learn more about getting a hardship license visit the resource Hardship Driver's Licenses.

If you have previously been incarcerated and have since been released then you may qualify for an ex-offender provisional driver's license. This might be an option, which gives a temporary driving permit to eligible ex-offenders for a one-year timeframe during which they can legally drive. This helps ex-offenders address any obligations preventing them from reinstating a permanent driver's license. During this period, individuals are given the legal right to drive, which can significantly aid in their reintegration by allowing them to fulfill various obligations, such as employment, educational pursuits, or other personal matters requiring transportation.  This license acts as a bridge to ex-offenders as they work towards securing a permanent driving license. 

Last Review and Update: Aug 10, 2023
Back to top